How many jacks? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-19-2011, 07:11 PM   #1

Name: Richard & Carolyn
Trailer: 2000 Casita SD 17'
Gabriola Island, BC
Registry
How many jacks?

Going to pick up a 17' Casita tomorrow and when I first saw the unit, it had the 2 standard attached jacks in the back and the current owner had 2 vehicle jacks in the front, all holding the frame.
What do YOU use? Is the standard eqpt, the 2 in the rear sufficient or do I need 4?
Of course, the tongue jack (wheel) was in use as well.
I'm new to this so don't know what is really needed and what is nice to have and what is not needed at all :-)
It seems to me that unless the 4 jacks (if one uses 4) would have to be pretty well balanced with the tongue and the wheels and they may suspend the frame off the ground, if that's what you want. Do I want to?
Thanks,
Richard
Greybeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 07:19 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Richard. I use two stabilizers in the back, two in the front and the tongue jack. It makes it solid as a rock and no, I wouldn't suspend the frame off the ground with this method... it may tweak the frame because the stabilizers are at the ends of the frame.
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 07:24 PM   #3

Trailer: U-Haul 1985
Registry
I have a 13 footer and also use 4 jacks plus the tongue. The back two are crank downs. Once my trailer is leve, I bring them down tight to the ground, then give them a small 1/8 turn more. Under the door, and also opposite on the other side of trailer, I use small scissor jacks. I tighten them up under the frame, and again, give them jsut a tweak more. This keeps my trailer from bouncing when I move around.
Pam Garlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 07:52 PM   #4

Name: Daniel A.
Trailer: Bigfoot 17.0 1991 dlx
British Columbia
Registry