How old is TOO old for a towing vehicle? - Fiberglass RV

Old 06-05-2008, 01:42 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Hi,

I'm new to fiberglassrv.com, but have been coming here recently because I'm thinking about buying a 13' foot Scamp. I camped as a kid with my family, but I have never towed anything before. One of the reasons I'm interested in a Scamp is because it can be towed by most 4-cylinder vehicles.

So, I'm wondering if I can tow a Scamp with my Toyota Rav4, which is 10 years old with 110,000 miles on it. It has a standard transmission (stickshift), and it's in good regular driving shape with regular maintenance, etc. The owner's manual indicates that a RAV4 can tow up to 2000 lbs., so I'm not concerned about wet weight. But I am wondering, am I expecting too much from a 10-year-old vehicle?

Thanks!

--Karen

Old 06-05-2008, 01:51 PM   #2

Name: Donna D
Trailer: Escape 5.0 TA, 2014
Oregon
to FiberglassRV Karen, we're glad you found us.

I can't address your question in particular, but I can tell you age doesn't mean a whole lot when it comes to these trailers, it generally doesn't mean much when talking about the age of the owners of the trailers and it probably isn't any different when it comes to the age of the TUG. Each and everything from trailer to owner to tug is all maintenance issues. Have you taken care of the Rav4 or is it on it's last legs (honestly).

My 2000 150 Ford F-150 has over 100,000 miles on it and is going to continue to pull my trailer just fine. It won't be put out to pasture because of the mileage. I really don't see much different between towing it when there was only 20,000 miles or 120,000 miles. It's been taken care of and will continue to be so. I am more attune to noises and the way the "peddle" feels tho, and check the tire pressure regularly and it faithfully goes in for regular maintenance. If fuel prices don't kill me first, I'll continue to use it.

Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:55 PM   #3