How to Repack Wheel Bearings- 2009 Scamp 13' - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-02-2016, 11:59 AM   #1

Name: Ginny
Trailer: '09 Scamp 13' w/ Bath
Oklahoma
How to Repack Wheel Bearings- 2009 Scamp 13'

Ok, I am sure this question has been answered before, but in searching the forums I couldn't find my answer in exactly the form I am hoping for, so I will pose it here.

I am a new scamp owner. I need to repack the wheel bearings and would like to do it myself. I am pretty handy, however I have never done this before.

I have some very specific questions.

1. What tools will I need to complete this job? I imagine a torque wrench, a jack (can I use the one from my car for changing a spare?), plyers, towels, screwdriver? chisel?

2. What parts do I need for this job? Is this the right bearing kit? Do you recommend another one?
Wheel Bearings

The end caps on the hub are pretty dry rotted. Is this something that would replace them?
Bearing Buddy

Hopefully this link works... this is a shared album link to photos of my current dry rot axle covers. https://goo.gl/photos/1U5Y5jr3jbrYxnAA6

3. Are there any tutorials or YouTube videos or links that you all can share that will provide step by step directions? I follow instructions well.

Thank you!!

-Ginny
fieldphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 12:06 PM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Very simple...just go to Youtube and type in "repacking wheel...." and they start popping up.

But, I'll go ahead and post this as it lists several vids on repacking. I would watch SEVERAL as different folks have different ideas. Dont watch a poorly video-taped one where somebody is just wanting air time. You can quickly tell the difference between those who know what they're doing and others that want notoriety.

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...ngs+on+trailer
Darral T. is offline   Reply With Quote