How to size a Blue Ox Sway Pro? - Fiberglass RV

Old 03-15-2015, 05:13 PM   #1

Name: Barbara
Trailer: bigfoot
Alberta
How to size a Blue Ox Sway Pro?

I have an opportunity to purchase a second hand blue Ox sway Pro equalizer hitch with sway control... It is rated for 1000lbs tongue weight. We will be pulling a 17 ft Bigfoot trailer with a tundra crew max. Is this overkill, and are there any dangers to going over the tongue weight?? As you can tell, I am a newbie here, and for affordability, We are determined to find something second hand.

Your thoughts and recommendations are greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Barb

Sent from my iPad using Fiberglass RV

Old 03-15-2015, 05:41 PM   #2

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Bigfoot B-17 CB
Washington
Your trailer probably has a tongue weight of around 400 pounds. Well below the rating of the hitch but why do you feel you need an equalizer hitch ? With your tundra I donr dont think its necessar. I tow my Bigfoot 17 with a 4WD Tacoma and never felt any need for an equalizer hitch.

Old 03-15-2015, 05:54 PM   #3

Alberta
How to size a Blue Ox Sway Pro?

Hi Jack thanks for the reply . I agree that we don't necessarily need any weight distribution but everyone and their dog recommends sway control with trailer this light. I don't think you can get one without the other. I realize this blue ox setup is above our weight requirement, I am mostly wondering if there are any negative effects of going over your tongue weight his way!

Sent from my iPhone using Fiberglass RV
Old 03-15-2015, 06:57 PM   #4

Name: John
Trailer: 16' Casita
California
Send a message via AIM to Perry J Send a message via Yahoo to Perry J
Sway control is a band aid for a serious problem.
You should be able to tow your trailer with no sway at any reasonable speed.
I have been towing for 50 years, stock trailers, horse trailers, boat trailers, large and small travel trailers and never had the need for a sway control.