Increasing the carrying capacity of a Trillium - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2011, 10:07 AM   #21

Trailer: 1974 Trillium 13 ft
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Tilston View Post
Sorry, total newbie, who is Tom, and how do I ask him?
Tom Young is the owner of Trillum RV. As far as I know he typically answers questions himself. See www.trilliumrv.com or try Sales (at) TrilliumRV.com
Old 11-16-2011, 10:32 AM   #22

Name: David
Trailer: 16 foot Scamp
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by floyd View Post
Stick to steel, It is much cheaper and a good aluminum welder is more difficult to find. You could have it powder coated or coated with POR15.
It will surely outlast your use for it.
Besides any future accessory would be easier to attach.
X3

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamimartin View Post
Hi David,
I fully agree with Floyd that a new steel frame is likely the best way to safely increase RV cargo capacity at a reasonnable cost on your Trillium 4500, preserving the sleeping space for your kids. Chasing a higher cargo capacity RV, often with heavier dual axle, is likely going to end up at a weight higher than the towing capacity of your vehicle.

Upgrading your RV frame should not significantly increase RV tounge weight, so any increased cargo capacity in the RV will reduce the truck rear axle load to safer levels. A professionnal can precisely match the final weight, desired load capacity frame gauge, stronger coupler, suspension and brake capacity. Instead of net reduction of 300 lbs on the rear axle (considering tongue weight), you may quickly fall back within safe load limits on all axles (truck and RV). This exercise will require a very high level of expertise and experience to properly balance all variables, design and weld together something that will work for you.

Good luck.
X2