Just purchased a 16' 1983 Scamp - but it is very bouncy on any imperfect road. - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-19-2017, 08:07 AM   #1

Name: Gabriella
Trailer: Scamp
New Mexico
Question Just purchased a 16' 1983 Scamp - but it is very bouncy on any imperfect road.

Total noob, so please forgive me. Any suggestions to help me trouble shoot?

It's uncomfortable to ride with, but more than anything I'm worried about damaging my car from it being bounced too much. Is that possible?

I've heard it could be the axel. How will I know if it is?

Would getting shocks installed help?

What about a tow tightener?

Thanks in advance!
3ll4t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 08:38 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome, Gabriella, and congratulations on the Scamp purchase!

The bouncing could be the axle, or it could just be that the unloaded trailer is light. My Scamp bounces a lot more when empty than when loaded for a trip.

Best to check the axle, though, given the age of the trailer. Jack up one side of the trailer, placing the jack on the main longitudinal frame rail just behind the axle. As you raise the axle, look (or measure) to see how much the wheel drops as the trailer rises. It should drop several inches. Little or no movement means a dead axle, and the only fix is a new axle.

A hitch tightening device is a good idea. It won't solve the bouncing, but it will quiet the rattle and banging of the drawbar in the receiver.

Best wishes!
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 08:53 AM   #3

New Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon in AZ View Post
Welcome, Gabriella, and congratulations on the Scamp purchase!

The bouncing could be the axle, or it could just be that the unloaded trailer is light. My Scamp bounces a lot more when empty than when loaded for a trip.