Novice at towing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-16-2016, 09:52 AM   #1

Name: Leslie
Trailer: Scamp 16'
California
Novice at towing

Hey all,

I'm going to take early retirement soon, and I'm getting a 16' Scamp or Casita or some other fiberglass RV (I haven't nailed down exactly which way I'm going to go), and I'm trading in my CR-V for a Subaru Outback since it will pull up to 2700 lbs.

My question is, how difficult will the trailer be to pull with the Outback? I'm a novice at pulling, as I've only pulled a trailer a few times, but I'm a quick learner so I'm not too concerned about it. I just want to make it as easy as possible.

What are your thoughts about my plan? Will the Outback pull well? I'll be all across the west from the deserts to the mountains, so I'll be pulling in a variety of conditions.

Any feedback is appreciated!

Thanks!

Leslie
LeslieGErickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 10:09 AM   #2

Name: Robert
Trailer: Surf-Side
Manitoba
See the discussion on current thread " sway with a 16' scamp"
Bob in Mb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 10:10 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Whoa!!!

A Subaru Outback is rated for 2700 pounds total trailer weight, but it's limited to 200 pounds tongue weight. Here's a link to the 2016 Subaru Outback Owner's Manual. Section 8 has all the trailer towing information. There are a number of other important caveats in addition to the tongue weight limit.

Camping-type trailers should have a tongue weight of at least 10-15% of total weight for stable towing. That means a 2400-2600 pound Scamp or Casita 16'er should have a tongue weight of at least 240-260 pounds. See the thread Trailer Weights in the Real World for more information. Post #297 links to a spreadsheet of the data.