Reese Double Cam Sway Control - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2007, 01:46 PM   #1

Trailer: Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe
I am considering a Reese Strait Line trunion WDH w/ dual cam sway control and 550 pound spring bars as I downsize from a 1-ton van to a Jeep Cherokee to tow my 3500 pound Casita 17SD (about 425# hitch weight).

Some folks have said that the daul cam needs LOTS more hitch weight to really work, plus they are always going out of adjustment causing bad trailer tracking.

Anyone have any input on these hitches?

Thanks,
Bob
bobinyelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 02:32 PM   #2

Trailer: Y2K6 Bigfoot 25 ft (25B25RQ) & Y2K3 Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
Bob, I've been using them for over twenty years. They're the best sway WDH solution available IMHO. They're reasonably priced, well built, they work well, and they're low maintenance. I don't know what the "out of adjustment" would be. They're self-centering. I think the 550lb bars would be just perfect for your 17.

Roger
Roger H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 11:22 PM   #3

Quote:
Bob, I've been using them for over twenty years. They're the best sway WDH solution available IMHO. They're reasonably priced, well built, they work well, and they're low maintenance. I don't know what the "out of adjustment" would be. They're self-centering. I think the 550lb bars would be just perfect for your 17.

Roger
Thanks, Roger. I use a Hensley Arrow (which fails the "reasonably priced" test) for my large trailers,

Click image for larger version

Name:	Vand_and_Trailer.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	22.1 KB
ID:	8664

but for Casita Hensley is WAY too heavy (both for Casita AND my Cherokee TV), and have their 2 5/16" ball welded to the hitch assembly anyway.