Scamp towing problems with Toyota Tacoma pickup - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2008, 04:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Trailer: 2008 16 ft Scamp
Posts: 19
Hi. I just towed a 16 foot 1989 Scamp with my 2007 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab 4x4. This vehicle has a 6 cyl engine and has the TRD off road package. It has 6600 miles on it. Had I known the problems I would have after towing this I would have first bought the right electrical hookup. After searching at 4 locations in Hopkins, I finally went to Northern Hydraulics. I bought a TAP 37595adapter. This is a 7 hole RV blade to a 7 hole pin type according to the package it came in. Once hooked up to my truck, the right signal worked, the left signal turned on both signals at the same time.

After getting back home I discovered that I could not put my truck into drive, reverse or anything. I now have to manually push down on a small button to the left of the gears to be able to drive it and put it in drive. Each time I drive it I have to do this. Now the signals on the truck don't work and a sign on the front which means bring to a Toyota dealer immediately flashes. The soonest I can get my truck in is Wed. of next week.


Does anyone know what I did wrong and how to stop it from happening again? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Doris

__________________

__________________
Doris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 05:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
DanPatWork's Avatar
 
Trailer: 88 Scamp 16 ft
Posts: 191
Registry
Quote:
Hi. I just towed a 16 foot 1989 Scamp with my 2007 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab 4x4. This vehicle has a 6 cyl engine and has the TRD off road package. It has 6600 miles on it. Had I known the problems I would have after towing this I would have first bought the right electrical hookup. After searching at 4 locations in Hopkins, I finally went to Northern Hydraulics. I bought a TAP 37595adapter. This is a 7 hole RV blade to a 7 hole pin type according to the package it came in. Once hooked up to my truck, the right signal worked, the left signal turned on both signals at the same time.

After getting back home I discovered that I could not put my truck into drive, reverse or anything. I now have to manually push down on a small button to the left of the gears to be able to drive it and put it in drive. Each time I drive it I have to do this. Now the signals on the truck don't work and a sign on the front which means bring to a Toyota dealer immediately flashes. The soonest I can get my truck in is Wed. of next week.


Does anyone know what I did wrong and how to stop it from happening again? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Doris
It sounds like something was either faulty with the adaptor, or the wiring on either the truck or trailer. It seems to me that there was a short that has blown the fuse to your brake light circuit on the truck. This would explain the reason you have to use the release switch next to the shifter. With the trailer disconnected, check the truck tail light and brake light functions.
__________________

__________________
DanPatWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 05:32 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Trailer: 2008 16 ft Scamp
Posts: 19
Quote:
It sounds like something was either faulty with the adaptor, or the wiring on either the truck or trailer. It seems to me that there was a short that has blown the fuse to your brake light circuit on the truck. This would explain the reason you have to use the release switch next to the shifter. With the trailer disconnected, check the truck tail light and brake light functions.
Hi. Thank you for the quick response. The brake lights and tail lights work. A friend checked the fuses and couldn't come up with anything. He may not have checked them all but did check the ones he thought might be out.
Doris
__________________
Doris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 07:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,029
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
I do know one thing for sure Doris, you can say way to much to the Toyota people and wind up holding the bag.

If it were me, I would take it to Toyota and say “It just stopped working” and not mention anything else and let them fix it under their warranty program.

__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 07:14 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Trailer: 2008 16 ft Scamp
Posts: 19
Quote:
I do know one thing for sure Doris, you can say way to much to the Toyota people and wind up holding the bag.

If it were me, I would take it to Toyota and say "It just stopped working" and not mention anything else and let them fix it under their warranty program.
Hi. Well I reckon you are correct. I did open up my mouth and say that I had towed with it etc. I told them just what happened thinking that it would be covered under warranty anyways. I think that I will cancel the appointment and take it to another Toyota dealer for repair and will heed your advice.

Thank you so much for your reply.

Doris
__________________
Doris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 07:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
shane n's Avatar
 
Trailer: Casita
Posts: 130
Toyota's require a resister type of thing for wiring to work, Its a small item and they usually take off a tail light and install it there. I had to do this with a Tacoma and my 4 runner. Its a very common thing and any u-haul or hitch shop can do this for you. Hope this helps. Let us know what the fix is
__________________
shane n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 08:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Harry Young's Avatar
 
Trailer: 1971 Astro (ie. Campster/Hunter I)
Posts: 437
Send a message via MSN to Harry Young Send a message via Yahoo to Harry Young
Call a hitch company...or uhaul, I think you need the 3 to 4 wire converter box, the tailights can in some models interfer with the abs brake computer and the interlock system.

Harry

__________________
Harry Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 11:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Doug Mager's Avatar
 
Trailer: 1975 13 ft Trillium
Posts: 2,536
Registry
That button you now have to use to shift gears isn't really a concern, more of an annoyance than anything else. Best get it checked and fixed at a dealer (IF you feel the need), but just say it just started acting this way. I doubt the trailer exceeded towing ratings for your vehicle but when dealing with a company best be safe then sorry. Just plead 'dumb', LOL!!!!
__________________
Doug Mager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 08:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Des Nolan's Avatar
 
Name: Des and Diane (D & D)
Trailer: Boler 1300, 1977 (#2033, "L EGGO")
Ontario
Posts: 260
Hi,

I had a very similar problem with my '04 Camry V6. That "push the button to shift" gambit is related. Toyota told me the wiring harness (installation of which they had contracted out for me) was fried. They sold me, and install it themselves, a pricey new harness.

After other electrical problem fixes, that may or may not be related, I think all is now in order, but haven't been out after dark yet for a final check. Good luck to you.

Des
__________________
Des Nolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 09:19 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,029
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
That button thing should work when you put your foot on the brake. By putting your foot on the brake it sends power to move the pin that keeps you from putting it in gear. This came about to prevent you from driving your vehicle accidentally through the garage door.

So, check your fuses, especially your brake light fuse, to insure you do not have a burnt out fuse. This is an easy thing to do - look in your vehicle book to find out where the fuses are.
__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 06:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Pete Dumbleton's Avatar
 
Trailer: Scamp
Posts: 3,072
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton
Most modern vehicles that I've messed with have at least two fuse panels, one under the hood and one inside the passenger compartment. Owner's manual should show you where they are.
__________________
Pete Dumbleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 03:40 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Trailer: Scamp 13 ft
Posts: 5
Doris,
Total shot in the dark here. I recently had the rear window replaced on my '05 4runner and after the repair the glass shop couldn't get the hatch to close. They had messed with the latch so they could run the window up and down with the hatch open, apparently this confused the vehicle computer(s). I disconnected the battery for 30 seconds and re-connected it to "reboot" the computer and the problem was fixed. Perhaps a "reboot" might help your problem.
__________________
Craig Simmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:44 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Pete Dumbleton's Avatar
 
Trailer: Scamp
Posts: 3,072
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton
A great idea.

Please read owner's manual on how to drive after rebooting the computer. It will be in a learning mode and will learn faster and better if certain guidelines are followed.
__________________
Pete Dumbleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 06:20 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Trailer: 1970 Campster
Posts: 253
While I was readying my Toyota Highlander so that I could purchase a FGRV, I learned from the trailer company that installed my receiver hitch that you must purchase the wiring harness from Toyota. I almost bought one online from Northern or JC Whitney because they sold some that supposedly would work on my vehicle for a lot less than what Toyota wanted. However, the trailer shop guy confirmed that wiring harnesses manufactured by other companies will not function properly on a Toyota because Toyota intentionally designed their system so that you would be forced to purchase the harness from them just to get more money out of your pocket. The trailer shop guy told me to pick up the harness directly at Toyota and did not even attempt to get me to purchase something from him. Perhaps this is at the root of your problem with the Tacoma? Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Lisa H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scamp


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toyota Tacoma late models... Frame problems??? Alf S. Towing, Hitching, Axles and Running Gear 6 07-18-2008 06:33 AM
Brake Controller for Toyota Tacoma?? Vic&Kathy Towing, Hitching, Axles and Running Gear 7 04-08-2008 09:43 PM
Can a 2007 Toyota Tacoma tow a Scamp 5th wheel trailer? Gary Foster Modifications, Alterations and Updates 4 03-28-2007 03:21 PM
Scamp towing problems with Toyota Tacoma pickup Doris Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 0 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Brake Controller for Toyota Tacoma?? Vic & Kathy Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 0 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.