swaying compact jr. - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2009, 03:22 PM   #1

Trailer: Compact Jr
I just got my 72 Compact Jr. home and the 30 mile trip was an adventure. I pull it with a 2002 GMC Sonoma so the weight should not be a problem. The trailer seems to want to wonder back and forth rapidly at any speed. It is my first camper but I am a truck driver and know this is not normal. I did notice that is has 13 inch car tires on it, or did. I just put some bias ply trailer tires on it but have not towed with it since then. I hope this fixes it but if not, any suggestions?
Heath G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 04:06 PM   #2

Trailer: 2000 Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
How much hitch weight does the trailer have? I'll bet that the hitch is too light. You need at least 10 percent of the trailers weight on the tongue.

Trailer tires, instead of car tires, can help this problem. However I don't think your tires are the source of your problem.

I've never heard of it, but I wonder if a worn out rubber ride torsion axle can contribute to your problem.

For minor sway problems, a sway control bar can be of help.

-- Dan Meyer
Dan Meyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 04:52 PM   #3

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Talking

Quote:
I've never heard of it, but I wonder if a worn out [b]rubber ride torsion axle can contribute to your problem.
Compact Jr. does not have a torsion type axle; it has leaf spring suspension.