Tow vehicle - Fiberglass RV

Old 07-13-2007, 04:51 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
I'm a newbie, or actually a wannabe. We sold our tent trailer a few years ago, and didn't camp for a few years. Now, we've bought a tent, and are getting back into camping, and want to travel more, too. we're thinking a travel trailer is the way to do it. But we can't afford BOTH a trailer and a new tow vehicle. From the web sites and company brochures, it looks like we'll want a 16 footer with a bathroom. A 17 footer would be nice, but the Casita 17 has too heavy a hitch weight.

For a tow vehicle, we have a Toyota Tacoma extra cab, with a 4 cylinder 2.4 liter engine, and a four speed automatic transmission. The rear bumper and vehicle are both rated with a towing capacity of 3500 lbs, and tongue weight of 350 lbs, and a GCWR of 6700 pounds. Toyota does NOT recommend using a weight distribution r weight equalizing hitch, but DOES recommend a friction type anti-sway device. The truck currently has about 83,000 miles on it, and we hope to keep it a while.

Have any of you had a experience with a similar tow vehicle and trailer? It looks like that as far as the published weights go, we're OK. But what by the time we add in all the extras? And overall towability and effects on gas mileage? Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Old 07-13-2007, 06:02 PM   #2

Name: Brian
Trailer: Boler (B1700RGH) 1979
Alberta
Although my guess is that the Tacoma will have the wheelbase and suspension to control a trailer the size of mine (a 17' Boler), the GCWR is a concern. With the relatively low GCWR for the smaller-engined earlier Tacoma (and yet almost as much truck weight as a V6 model) there's not much allowance for a trailer, cargo in the trailer, passengers, and cargo in the truck. Since engine-limited GCWR is basically a reliability and performance issue (rather than structure or control) that's where the concern would lie.