Towing like you're not even towing? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2015, 10:37 AM   #1

Name: Liz
Trailer: In the market
Massachusetts
Towing like you're not even towing?

Hi all, I'm a newbie!

I have a big bulky square travel trailer, and I absolutely hate driving it over the roads. Since travel is kind of the idea, I'm thinking of selling it and moving on to something more road worthy.

I used to haul horses all over the place, and hauling a horse trailer was so much nicer than it is hauling a boxy travel trailer. My favorite horse trailer was a fiberglass Brenderup, and really it felt like you weren't towing a trailer at all. Smooth as can be. Also love the marine look and the longevity of the fiberglass RV's... from pictures at least since I've never been in one!

I do need some space since I travel with 4 medium sized dogs - they are bed hogs if there's not a couch/bench/dinette to spread out on. And I need a bathroom/shower. Otherwise my needs are modest. I just want a trailer that's fun to haul and comfortable to sleep in.

So, I'm looking for some pointers/feedback/advice on how hauling your fiberglass RV goes. Thank you!
swoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 10:47 AM   #2
MC1

Name: Wayne
Trailer: Airstream Sold, Nest Fan
Ontario
Hi Liz.... What is your tow vehicle?

Trailers that tend to tow the best are ones that have dual torsion axles, have a low center of gravity, have some sort of aerodynamic shape, and are set up optimally.

There are lots of opinions on which size and brand would suit your needs best.

What is your price point?
MC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 10:54 AM   #3

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
Hi Liz and welcome to the group.