Trailer height and the Axle Connection - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2008, 06:06 PM   #1

Trailer: 1970 Campster
Please forgive me, but I'm a newbie with no previous trailer exposure and apparently am confused by some of the jargon associated with trailer anatomy. Now I am not sure how I can solve my dilemma and hope that someone (or many) can clarify what I need to do regarding my axle.

I recently bought a 1970 Campster that has an axle with leaf springs. When I took it to the trailer shop for a more detailed inspection and to have the bearings packed, I pointed out to the mechanic that I was not comfortable with how low the axle hung on the trailer because I frequently camp in locations that require driving distances on some pretty rough dirt roads. I also explained that I wanted to purchase a pair of 8" rims so I could put them on the trailer and wheel it under my 77" high garage door. I needed to lose about 6" from the trailer's current height if I was going to be able to put the trailer in the garage. (The current rims are 14" and the overall wheel diameter is 24".) I was also concerned with the condition of the axle and wondered if it would be worth my purchasing a torsion axle (I'd really like to have brakes too!) He responded that a torsion axle would cost more than what I paid for the trailer and that although the current axle is old, it is still in good enough condition. He thought a torsion axle would be a waste of money. Part of my inquiry about getting a torsion axle is that I am aware that they are straighter and I thought torsion axles would also provide more ground clearance than the low-slung axle that is on the trailer now.