UHaul Wheel Bearings / Hub - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-04-2011, 12:09 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
UHaul Wheel Bearings / Hub

Newbie here with lots of questions. When I bought my UHaul CT13 it came with an spare hub, purchased in 1992 (receipt was in the box for $75). It feels like it has a rust spot as I turn it slowly, so I'm thinking it might not be a reliable spare.

My questions:
  • Can the hub be rebuilt with new sealed bearings? It appears to be swedged under the cap.
  • Would I be better off just buying one or two hubs for $55 from UHaul and keeping the best one as a spare?
  • What has been the failure rate for UHaul bearing, anecdotally, here
Thomas G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 01:05 PM   #2

Trailer: 16 ft U-Haul VT
Registry
We had one fail on a trip. We took it to an RV shop who sent us to a place that would have rebuilt it although we then were able to find a dealer who happened to have 2 new ones that fit still on his shelf. The place that would have repaired it said that it appeared to have been repaired badly in the first place.

CindyL
CindyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 01:24 PM   #3

Thanks Cindy. I decided to buy one new one, as there is free shipping over $25 and they are $55. I'll just carry the new-new one and the old-new one. That should cover me.

Interesting that you did have a failure. On the UHaul site, I could not find any documentation of a failure, though I know their archives got dumped.
Old 12-04-2011, 02:14 PM   #4

Name: Roger
Trailer: U Hall VT
Michigan
Registry
Rims and Tires, Axles items in Johnson's Surplus store on eBay!

Check with these guys, you will like there site
Roger Kimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 03:03 PM   #5

Trailer: 16 ft U-Haul VT
Registry