Wanna tow Scamp 16' with Subaru Forester - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2012, 02:58 PM   #1

Name: Dave
Trailer: 2012 Lil Snoozy w Forester
Illinois
Wanna tow Scamp 16' with Subaru Forester

Hello. I'm new to RVing. Haven't done it yet. My wife and I hope to travel a fair amount in retirement and are looking at the Scamp 13' and 16'. We like the idea of the 16' deluxe because it has a 54" bed versus the 44" bed on the standard 13' and 16' models. However, our 2010 Forester is rated to tow 2400lbs. I understand the deluxe 16' dry GVW is about 2,300lbs. Would I be pushing the Forester too much particularily on upgrades? Would like to hear from those towing RVs with a Subaru Forester.

Looking forward to seeing you all on the trail!!

Thanks.

Dave
DavArl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:25 PM   #2

Name: Alice
Trailer: 2018 Casita SD - Kondo A-Go-Go
Utah
Registry
Hi,
I tow a 13' Scamp with an '09 Forester X2.5. Scamp has brakes and a bathroom/shower. Fully loaded weighs 1840#. Tows like a dream. I think a 16' may be a bit more than a Forester could handle. Especially in mountains or high temps. You could do it, but I feel it would lessen the life span of the Forrester. Just my opinion.
If I were to step up to a 16' camper, I'd buy a Toyota Rav4 with a V6 engine. They are rated to tow 3500#, whereas the Forester is only rated to tow 2400#. When I bought the Forester, I was looking for a vehicle that could tow a 13' Scamp, good gas mileage, and price. The Forester came in 1st, Rav4 2nd. The only thing about the Rav4 that I don't like, but could live with is the rear door opening from the side, rather than a lift up. I would be super if Honda would beef up the CR-V to tow at least 2400# rather than the paultry 1500 it is rated at now.
Alice

KONDO A-GO-GO - I GO WHERE I'M TOWED
Wallo is offline   Reply With Quote