Why Not A V8? - Fiberglass RV

Old 11-06-2008, 10:56 AM   #1

Name: Alyn
Trailer: Hallmark Truck Camper

Hi folks, I am fairly new to this wonderful forum and have really enjoyed the comradre, sharing, and educational value it provides. I'd like to give some input on proper towing capacity. The wife and I currently wander in an older Chevy Silverado truck (1990) loaded with a Hallmark pop top slide in truck camper (1997). We have outgrown this rig and are thinking of moving on to switching out the Hallmark for a 17 foot EggCamper. I think we all realize the value of towing and living in an egg type trailer over traveling in a giant motorhome or pulling a trailer that is as long as a house.

That being said, I feel that the towing vehicle should be overated in both horsepower, torque, and towing capacity. What I'm getting at here is why not use a comfortable V8 truck or V8 SUV as the tug? Our Silverado is a three quarter ton pick up with a 350 engine that is designed for everything that folks here are talking about. I live in Colorado Springs, so we are doing all mountain driving at very high altitudes and still get 12 to 15 mpg in comfort and style. I could actually go with a half ton truck for pulling a fiberglass trailer, but the three quarter ton was necessarry to carry the load of the Hallmark in the bed of the truck. I also bought the truck for a song because of its age. We put a total of around $12,000 into it including purchase price, and it is a like new truck.

We feel that the Silverado/EggCamper will be a perfect match for our style of wandering. Would like to get some feedback from you folks on this subject since we are new to trailering. We had thought of getting a small Roadtrek type motorhome, but it seems that the disadvantages would outweigh the advantages with that setup.

Alyn

Old 11-06-2008, 11:04 AM   #2

Trailer: 2007 Eggcamper
Alyn,

If it's your everyday vehicle, why not? especially if you travel in a mountainous region.

Art