Genealogy, anyone else interested? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-30-2010, 11:41 AM   #1

Trailer: 1979 13 ft Boler and 1987 Bigfoot 5th Wheel
Registry
Genealogy, anyone else interested?

I've just started doing my family genealogy. What a mess!

I'm poking around on non pay sites at this point and found there are two men with the same name, one appears to be my Great, G, G Grandfather due to being married to my GGG Grandmother......but both men's family tree start matching a couple generations back and both their wives had the same maiden name. Something is messed up somewhere.

More sleuthing required!
Old 07-30-2010, 01:20 PM   #2

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Lizabeth I have been doing Genealogy for about 8 years and my best word of advise to you is to use other peoples on line trees as a hint and starting point only. Good place to start but make sure you look and find actual sources to support what they say. Can not tell you how many family trees I have seen posted on line for one of my direct lines that are very incorrect. In many cases the research was done by someone that is very distant off the direct line so they have little personal information or old family holdings to work with. In many cases people take and repost on line information they obtained from someone else without doing their own leg work in making sure it is correct so very incorrect family tree information keeps being reposted over and over.