Gold panning/prospecting - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-26-2011, 11:11 PM   #1
RLP

Name: Rick
Trailer: 72 Boler
British Columbia
Gold panning/prospecting

Any gold prospectors out there?
RLP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 01:46 AM   #2

Name: jim
Trailer: 2022 Escape19 pulled by 2014 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport
Pennsylvania
Registry
My ex-wife is one?
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 08:51 AM   #3
RLP

British Columbia
Ex-wife? She must have hit a good pay streak and you were left with the gravel. (Really, I am laughing with you).
Old 12-27-2011, 01:24 PM   #4

Trailer: Bigfoot 21 ft Front Bedroom
I am a novice prospector. Been at it two years. I have been doing a lot of reading and research. It is very interesting. I started with a White's Goldmaster GMT metal detector loaned to me by a friend. I bought a couple of small nuggets from ebay to calibrate the detector with. I have also done some panning. I travel, camp and ATV ride all over the western US every year. I have metal detected some around Quartzsite the last two winters and will again this February if I make it out there. I actually found some gold in Colorado last summer. There is lots to learn especially about finding promising areas to go that are not already claimed. I know two things. You are not likely to make a living at it. Also there is lots of gold still out there. There is no way the old time prospectors with their donkeys found it all.

I like to tell people I have a gold mine in Nevada. Here is a picture of it.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2464.JPG  
Bruce H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 03:15 PM   #5

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York