Future Scamp owner! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 12-18-2016, 06:42 PM   #1

Name: trish
Trailer: In the market
California
Future Scamp owner!

Hi Everyone! My name is Trish and I live in Sacramento, CA. I have been camping for 40 years(I'm 47) and am in the market for a trailer. I currently have a '68 Aristrocrat, so cute, but no bathroom! So I have been looking and looking, and a fiberglass model seems like its the best bet. We have some water damage to the ol' Risty because she is full of seams. My understanding is that the fiberglass trailers have limited leaks and hold their value.
I have a couple if questions:
1. There is carpet on the ceiling of the Scamp shower. Does anyone have any mold issues because of that?
2. My husband is 6'1, would a side or front shower be a better option?
3. I really like the deluxe wood option. How much more does that add to the total weight of the trailer(we would be pulling it with a Toyota Tacoma)?
4. Lastly, are there any Scamp owners in Northern California that would love to show off their trailer so I can get an idea of what they look like in real life?
Looking forward to your comments and thoughts, Trish
trishar647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 10:39 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Future Scamp owner!

Welcome, Trish!

(1) It's not carpet. It's marine-grade headliner. Mold should not be an issue as long as you ventilate during a shower and dry down after, which is SOP in any wet bath.

(2) The front bath has about 5" more headroom in the shower pan and more space overall. At 6'1" he will still have to stoop, though. I believe some people shower sitting down in the side bath. It's pretty tiny.