Hello, new to the RV world - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-19-2012, 10:53 PM   #1

Name: scott
Trailer: shopping
California
Hello, new to the RV world

Hello all. I'm new to the RV world and have never even towed an RV before. I just got back from a trip to Yellowstone and have decided to buy a small trailer to create camping adventure memories with my wife and 2 1/2 year old son. After researching a few types, mainly teardrops and travel trailers, my wife and I have decided that a 13'-14' travel trailer would be best for our small family. Plus our driveway is only about 18 long after the gate is closed and we have 4 cylinders cars.

After some research we've concluded that aesthetically we like the 13' Uhaul Camper trailer and the Burro. We like the vertical divide through the center that Uhaul and Burro has as oppose to the horizontal divide that Casita, Scamp, Boler and others have. One thing we don't know yet is the quality of the different brands. What are some opinions about the quality between the types out there. I've heard that since Uhaul made their campers for commercial use, they are very well built and sturdy. Is this true? Or are they all just about the same?

I also noticed that Burro sells their trailers in a kit version that you assemble yourself. Has anyone done this? It would seem like a good learning experience if you're patient and have extra time.

So far we've come down to either buying a used Uhaul and restoring it or a new Burro kit and assemble it to save some money and learn a bit about how they go together. I also like the T@B clamshell. It's bigger than a traditional teardrop and kitchen is outside which keep the smoke and smells out of your living space.