Hi! Got this crazy idea!!! - Fiberglass RV

Closed Thread

Old 09-11-2011, 08:43 PM   #1

Name: Dylan
Trailer: 2001 Scamp 13'
British Columbia
Hi! Got this crazy idea!!!

First let me say I'm very pleased to find such a great resource!!

I'm a 40 year old professional who is finding himself traveling for work a lot the past 3 years (New Zealand, Australia, New Mexico, considering Seattle/BC for next year). And when not working, traveling a lot for fun. Often I don't have an apartment, with most of my large things in storage. Thankfully I have so many friends and family happy to host me in the transitions, or I'd be spending a fortune on motels. So I passed a 16' Casita recently on a road trip and it started me thinking. Obsessing is more like it!! I've always wanted my own trailer since my Grandpa had his Airstream when I was a kid. But always driving small cars I never thought there were any practical options. But I think a 13' is towable with my car (2500lbs, 200+ hp, big brakes, but short wheelbase). Open minded as to brand, but the Scamps seem most likely given the number of 13' Scamps I'm seeing for sale in CA. I want to live in it full time for 4 to 6 months while working in another state (NM) as a trial and then evaluate if I want to keep it, or keep it but not attempt such long stays in it. If not I've built some equity rather than wasting on rent. Perhaps just keep it for burning man!

Things I'm not so sure about, seem very rare in used 13's and possibly heavy additions when I'm so weight concerned, not easy to retrofit....