Hi I am Ed - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-21-2016, 05:50 PM   #1

Name: Ed
Trailer: Hunter Compact
Arizona
Registry
Newbie with questions about Hunter Compact 2

I am a newbie.....And I just inherited a Hunter Compact 2. I would like to know where I can get parts for it as I am going to Restore it. And how do I restore the fiberglass or do I just clean it? And with what do I restore it with . And what is safe for cleaning fiberglass? I'm sorry if that is too many questions but I'm very new to this......Ed
couldahadav8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 08:15 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome,Ed!

Some more details about the repairs that need to be done with pictures would help. I'd start with running gear so you can tow safely: tires, bearings, and lights. Make sure to check dates on the tires. Trailer tires usually age out (6-7 years) before they wear out.

But for now cleaning up the trailer is a good start. Bar Keepers Friend, a very mild scouring agent, works well to clean up the fiberglass. Buy the liquid if you can find it, but if not you can turn the powder into a thin paste with water.

Once the exterior is thoroughly clean, you can go several routes to restore some degree of gloss. Cheapest is regular automotive paste wax. It will bring back a dull shine, not a high gloss, but it will protect the fiberglass. The first time you may want to do several coats, and buffing out will be difficult because the surface is rough and somewhat porous. After that if you keep up it gets easier. I wax twice a year, spring and fall.

A step up is marine wax from 3M or Maguires. Better shine and longer-lasting, but still won't be a high gloss finish like new gelcoat.