Hi.. I am Lucy - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-02-2017, 06:54 AM   #1

Name: Lucy
Trailer: Casita 17' SD
Tennessee
Hi.. I am Lucy

I am interested in a 15'+ unit. Must have bathroom w/ shower.
I'm new to travel trailer world, but have read many articles, posts, etc., indicating that Casita is the way to go for many reasons. I'll certainly consider similar units.
I will be using the trailer to travel solo to multi-day horse shows throughout the Southeast, but in a caravan situation with friends in their own trailers. I'm doing a lot of research and think this is a perfect option for my situation.
I live on the "quiet side" of The Great Smoky Mountains, near Maryville TN.
LucyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 09:27 AM   #2

Trailer: Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Welcome Lucy
A lot of horse people and fisherman use truck slide-in campers that way they can camp and pull their horse trailers or boats. Even with not towing a boat or horse trailer with a Casita you will need either a SUV or pick-up to tow a Casita with a +400 lb. tongue weight. Welcome to the forum.
Eddie
Eddie Longest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 09:37 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Either a 16' Scamp or Casita would fit the bill nicely. In my opinion it's a Chevy-or-Ford thing. People form their preferences and stick with them.

Know that a 16' Casita will be a little heavier than a 16' Scamp as well as possibly harder to find (if you're shopping used). 17' Casitas are much more common but even heavier, especially on the tongue, and typically require a somewhat larger tow vehicle. Check out the thread "Trailer Weights in the Real World" thread in the General Chat section. Post #297 links to a spreadsheet of the data.