Hi I am ... new and in need of advice - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-23-2019, 12:22 PM   #1

Name: Zach
Trailer: researching
California
Hi I am ... new and in need of advice

I've just started looking at molded fiberglass trailers and could use some advice, as I'm new to this.

I have a 2018 Toyota Tacoma as a tow vehicle, which should help narrow my options down - max tow capacity 3500 pounds.

I volunteer in the National Parks in Utah, my main gig there gives me housing every spring and fall, but I'd be using this to occasionally boondock in the National Forest nearby during Park Festivals in summer.

my needs are essentially: bed, desk, stove, sink, refrigerator, heat/AC, toilet, shower - would be towing the trailer into the forest and leaving it in one location for 14 days at a time, so something with larger water/waste storage tanks would be preferable.

does not need to be plush as I'm generally out all day, but would prefer buying a brand with a good track record and one common enough that parts and repair advice would be easier to come by.

would also prefer to rent something to test it out first, and would love to attend some sort of rally for fiberglass trailer enthusiasts where I can get a feel for multiple different types and what people are doing with them.

Scamps, Casitas, and Escapes seem to get mentioned most often, but maybe I'm missing others.

it's just me, no pets or spouse, so think small, portable and durable please - where should I even begin? thanks !!!
Zach Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 12:59 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
First piece of advice is to break your post up into paragraphs.

I gave up reading half way through.