Hi I am Simon Says - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2016, 11:29 AM   #1

Name: Sunny
Trailer: 1978 Fibre Stream
Texas
Hi I am Simon Says

I was gifted a 1978 Fibre Stream two weeks ago. I am a total novice, don't even own a hitch LOL! The trailer came with manuals on the appliances but I have no clue as to the generator, electrical, plumbing etc. I am having all kinds of ideas for the interior ( the whole thing is in great shape though) and just where my dog and I will go. Any info on where I can get owners manual would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
simon says is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 12:43 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome, Sunny!

Sounds like you have a treasure. We'd love to see pictures! Directions are here (post #7).

The Document Center is a great resource. I checked, and it doesn't look like there is a general owner's manual for a Fiber Stream, though. We have several Fiber Stream owners on this site, so perhaps they will be able to help.

Even if not, RV systems are pretty generic and work similarly across a spectrum of makes and years. Appliances change, of course, but you said you have those manuals. Google is your friend. You can google things like "how to winterize an RV" or "how to reseal RV windows" and pull up helpful information and even videos.

And if you're still stumped, ask away!

First order of business is to get this set up to tow safely. According to the thread Trailer Weights in the Real World your trailer will likely weigh 2800-3200 pounds loaded for camping. You will want a tow vehicle rated for at least 3500 pounds to pull it with, and you'll need to make sure it has any towing related upgrades required by the manufacturer. Read the towing section of your owner's manual carefully. You'll want a Class III hitch with a 2" receiver.