Hi, I知 Ellen! My grandfather gave me the best gift! - Fiberglass RV

Old 10-09-2018, 01:20 AM   #1

Name: Ellen
Trailer: Boler
IN
Hi, I知 Ellen! My grandfather gave me the best gift!

Hello!

My name is Ellen. I’m 24 years old and from Indiana. Two years ago, my grandfather gifted me the most wonderful present: his '74 Boler! Growing up, my family also had a Scamp and I have fond memories of camping with our little fiberglass crew. ☺

When I got it, my 13’ babe was structurally sound, but a little worse for wear with some real funky modifications. I took out those mods and am working on making it my own. This forum has been a godsend while I figure things out, I've been lurking for about 2 years.

I'm an artist, and my plan is to travel full time for a while, vending at art festivals and seeing the states. Since I'm finally at a point financially where that's viable (here's to busting my butt teaching, cheap rent with my parents, and saving!), I've been working hard to get things put together in the camper. So I figured it was time to quit lurking and make an account here!

I'm excited to be a part of this community!

PS Attached is a picture of my babe from last summer, before I really started working on her. Her name's Rummi, because I used to play Rummikub inside her with my grandparents when it rained. ☺
Attached Thumbnails
20170624_142535.jpg  

Ellen S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 02:33 AM   #2

IN
I suppose I should also add what I'm working on, and what I plan to do soon. I definitely am doing some things out of order. Oh well! Here's to learning.

Done (There's not much!):
As per usual, I started with a big deep clean. Ripped out a bunch of modifications and the ancient (original?) carpet and cleaned cleaned cleaned. I scrubbed the ensolite, primed it with some Zinsser, and repainted it. It's amazing what a fresh coat of paint will do.
Replaced the table support. You don't want to know how my grandpa had it jerry rigged together.

Current: