Hi, I'm definitely a newbie here and to this concept of camping - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2011, 09:16 PM   #1

Name: Nick
Trailer: OutdoorsRV
Texas
Hi, I'm definitely a newbie here and to this concept of camping

Hello and welcome to my state of confusion. My wife and I have kicked around getting a travel trailer or motorhome for years and just never made it. She passed last year and now I'm retired (as of 5/31 anyway) and plenty of time on my hands. Don't need a big behemoth. I like the FG trailers from what I've seen. The problem is it appears most are sold direct so how in the devil do can you determine what fits you just right?

Don't need a lot of space. I'm used to cramped quarters having spent 20 years in the submarine service. Don't need things (except my computer & cell phone). Thinking about a 13'er or maybe 16'. Needs a toilet/shower since I plan to full time in it. Browsed the internet looking at Casita, Scamps, Burro's and not any further ahead of the game. I'll be towing with a 2008 GMC Acadia with tow package so I don't think any of those will be a problem.

Perhaps I should actually post this someplace other than the Welcome area but just trying to get some direction.

Hey, thanks in advance and I'm liking what I see here.

Hope to soon be on the road.

Cheers.
Nick
Rvicsvol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:24 PM   #2

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikljones View Post
The problem is it appears most are sold direct so how in the devil do can you determine what fits you just right?

Browsed the internet looking at Casita, Scamps, Burro's and not any further ahead of the game.
There are several strategies you might employ: