Hi, I'm new and getting a 16' Scamp in July & questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2017, 10:42 AM   #1

Name: Alice
Trailer: 16 'Scamp Trailer
California
Hi, I'm new and getting a 16' Scamp in July & questions

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to RVing but have only about a year until retirement, so I'm launching on a big learning curve to get up to speed on everything I need to learn. I've ordered a 16' Scamp and will go get it in MN in July (I live in CA) and then do some camping in the Tetons on the way home.

The first thing I need to know is when I go to MN, what things do I need to bring with me to make my Scamp immediately usable. I'm not talking about kitchen & camping stuff. I'll be bringing my whole pre-RV camping kit. What I need to know is what things are particular to Scamp RV camping that Scamp won't give me, like aids to hitching up & unhitching in the Tetons, dumping for the first time, hoses for filling with water, and stuff like that. I'm close to being a complete newbie at those things. Wow, there's a lot to learn.

I just had the correct hitch installed at U-haul, along with the brake controller. Next I guess I need a transmission cooler on my 2000 4Runner, right? Any advice on which one?

Thanks ahead of time,
Alice
AliceGardner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 10:59 AM   #2

Trailer: Bigfoot Silver Cloud -1988
Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin A
Welcome to the club! I hope you really enjoy your new trailer.

Some generic things to bring along would be:

1. A hose for potable water, probably 25 feet should be enough for most sites.
2. A water filter and a pressure reducer. These are usually available at Walmart or similar.
3. Leveling blocks of plastic or wood for uneven sites.
4. Wheel chocks (2)