How to begin...... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2013, 06:09 AM   #1

Name: jobelle
Trailer: trying to decide
Alabama
Question How to begin......

I am a disabled female veteran and I want to start a new chapter in my life that allows me to come and go as the wind blows. I currently drive a 2009 Chevy Impala, which won't hold a wheelchair lift, so I KNOW it won't tow anything either. Any low cost suggestions for a tow car/van and what type of caravan would be best suited to a disabled person? I go everyplace with a service dog, so I need to know what type of caravan parks would allow me to take him with me. These are important details I need to find out before I decide to begin my yearning to run away as an adult.

I used to own my dream 1970's caravan, which I had completely remodeled, but someone told me it was silly to own such an item since I am now disabled. I am still kicking myself for selling it for $700. Not that I can kick anything anymore.
jobellecollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:03 AM   #2

Trailer: Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Jobelle
Welcome and thank you for your service. I see quite a few mini vans modified with wheelchair lifts and quite a few here use them for towing their fiberglass trailers. Now to the trailers most fiberglass trailers have fairly narrow doors and there are cabinets installed by these doors for support so modification would be quite extensive and floor space is limited.
As far as fiberglass goes the Lil Snoozy comes to mind. It has an open floor plan with a rear door which leads it self to easier modification. Also I think they will do custom cabinets. With a wheelchair a small toy hauler may be the best bet. they have a large rear door with ramp entrance. I'm sure the ramps could be automated.