howdy from northern Michigan - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-08-2015, 08:13 AM   #1

Name: Mark
Trailer: 1990 Scamp 16'
Michigan
howdy from northern Michigan

hello all. been lurking on this forum for a month or so i figured it was time to register.
the wife & i moved to the sticks of northern Mi. from the burbs of SE Mi. a couple years ago.
the wife had been on the lookout for a fiberglass RV for a few years when 1 morning i ran across an ad for a Scamp 16' priced at $1500. we couldnt believe the price and figured there was some thing(s) wrong with it. im a carpenter, so fixing things like campers doesnt discourage me.
anywho, after a few emails, pictures, and phone conversations, i was on the 120 to look at the camper. seller stated that he would go no lower than $1000....which really had us excited.
it was disclosed from the start that the bathroom window leaked(which damaged the "paneling" in the wet closet) and i could also see the roof vent cover was cracked. other than that nothing major was wrong. power was hooked up and every knob i turned or switch i flicked worked. i couldnt believe it !
as of now the window is fixed, damaged bathroom wall replaced with a sheet of FRP, new vent cover installed, and we purchased a bunch of new rivet washers & caps. all appliances work. new paint on bumper & tongue coming soon.
if we see any of ya'll out there on the trail, we'll be sure to share a fire, beer, & a shot of limoncello.
cityboy2977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 08:27 AM   #2

Name: Eric
Trailer: Scamp 13
Michigan