Intro to DriverOne - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2011, 08:16 PM   #1

Name: Dustin
Trailer: Anxiously searching
South Carolina
Talking Intro to DriverOne

Hello! My name's Dustin. I'm a truck driver, and I live in the Upstate region of SC. While I drive one of the largest road-bound vehicles around, I have an affinity for small things, and am an outdoorsman at heart. My love for the Ford Festiva (small things!) and camping, fishing, and trailers (10-4, good buddy!}- has brought me here.

Just to get this out of the way, I am perfectly fine with a teardrop 5-wide behind my car, but my wife "isn't going to be buried and so will not lay in a coffin!" Okay. Time for the smallest possible, lightest camper around; a fiberglass, home-built, 10-foot trailer. I've looked at "real world trailer weights" and I realize, I may need a larger vehicle for that anyway. It's not going to stop me from trying, though. My GVWR goal is 1,000lbs, which the Festiva has been proven to pull, albeit responsibly. I hope that what I find here will help me in my endeavors.

My idea is to use a bamboo-framed fiberglass shell on a tubular aluminum chassis in a 6x10 size in hi-lo fashion (for less drag) using plastic for windows instead of glass, mimicking a cargo trailer in shape, and possibly continuing with the bamboo as a building material in the camper, since it's so light compared to other types of "wood." *gasp for air* I have absolutely no idea how much that would cost, or if there would ever be a market for such a thing.
If in fact I realize I'm crazy before you do, I may just switch to pulling a 10-foot pre-fab model with a Mitsubishi Mighty Max instead. I'm game. It may be fun to paint the trailer up in camouflage, although I may actually lose it.