Jennifer Shonafelt - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-24-2013, 10:24 AM   #1

Name: Jennifer
Trailer: Scamp
California
Jennifer Shonafelt

Hi All,

I'm a newbie and just started shopping. My hubby, John and I decided that a lightweight fiberglass is the way to go now that we have a little (he's 8 mo).

My husband traveled for almost a year when he was little with his younger sister and brother in a Traveleeze (sp.) when his parents were on a sabbatical. He has fond memories and lots of Kodachrome slides.

We have an FJ Cruiser for towing and a love for the high desert of CA east of the Sierras. We have been trying to figure out what we want but there aren't that many for sale in SoCal. We know we want a trailer that is 17' or smaller with a toilet, a heater, and a layout where the bed doesn't feel too cramped. I tend to get a little claustrophobic and the baby will need to squeeze in. We have small nest egg (pun completely intended) for a good condition used trailer.

Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome. I'll be poking around for a while.

Jen
Old 08-24-2013, 12:06 PM   #2

Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 2010 Scamp 16
Michigan
Welcome and good luck finding your perfect memory maker.

This for sale thread in the forum is worth keeping a close eye on. They go fast when they are a good deal.
For Sale: Molded Fiberglass Travel Trailers - Fiberglass RV
And this site.
Molded Fiberglass Trailers | Fiberglass RV's For Sale

You sound like you have your requirements figured out, always a good first step. You might find it useful to check out the floor plans from some trailers currently in production. Some of these have been offered for a long time so may be available in the used market and it allows you to ask how other campers compare to specific well known floor plans.
Showroom - Scamp Trailers