Just dropping in to say 'Hi!' - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2012, 05:18 PM   #1

Name: Les
Trailer: 1977 Avco 29' Grand Lodge
Idaho
Just dropping in to say 'Hi!'

We're on our way to go make an offer on a 77 Avco 29' motorhome tonight. From lurking for the last two days, it seems the community is geared primarily towards trailers, but I hope you embrace the self-propelled crowed as well.

It's not a Winnebago-style construction where it's a bunch of flat panels attached with plastic 'cornering' or whatever it's called. It's a curved-sided monster that looks like it is a molded shell - it's actually more curvy than the pictures I've seen of the Avco trailers.

Anyway, I dropped in hoping that someone will have may know someone, who knows someone, etc that may have manuals for this thing.

I'm in IT right now - I'm actually a software developer for PacificSource Health Plans, but I was a mechanic for many years prior to a significant career change. Like the Technomads were, my wife and I are currently full-timing in a 17 foot travel trailer. The big difference is that we have our two kids with us. It's a touch crowded, and we're on our way (hopefully) to a GMC 4104 or 4106 of the retired Greyhound bus variety. We're not there yet though, and that's going to be a journey all of it's own.

Anyway, I thought I'd drop in and say Hi!

Les Berg
LesBerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:35 PM   #2

Name: Dave
Trailer: ,Bigfoot 25 foot plus Surfside 14 foot
British Columbia
Welcome Les

Is that the Avco that is for sale in Emmett? Good looking unit!
When I first read your post, I thought for a second that it was one of the Travco Dodges you were going to see. The ones that are all 'glass but look like a self-propelled Airstream. (Love those!)