Originally Posted by CindyL
I find older cushions to be less alarming than the title
I'd be nervous about spending my hard-earned on something with an original VIN# that doesn't match the paper I had in hand...
Peace of Mind Department tip!
Here's another resource available to check your VIN
in Colorado records, at least.
Hope this helps...
From:Department of Revenue - Division of Motor Vehicles:Vehicle Record Searches
Vehicle Record Searches
Colorado State law and the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) state that the department shall not disclose or otherwise make available to any person or entity personal information about any individual obtained by the department in connection with a motor vehicle.
For a person to purchase a record other than their own, they must declare their intended use of that record, or they must have the signature of the person in interest authorizing them to inspect the record. Record searches are available for vehicles based on VIN
number only. To protect personal identification information, records searches may not be completed based on license
plate number or owner name. The department maintains imaged records for seven years plus the current year only.
If there is a record in the motor vehicle system, the search will provide the vehicle description, the lien information, if there is a lien on the vehicle the name and mailing address of the owner will be provided, when appropriate.
The Department requires that the Statement of Fact be included with the Title Information Request and Receipt and Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use for all record search and title history requests. The Statement of Fact is required to explain the reason the information is being requested. In order to process the request these forms need to be completed in full.
The Title Information Request and Receipt must include the following information:
The vehicle identification number (VIN)
Year and make of the vehicle
The Colorado title number if available
The name and address of the requestor at the top of the form.
The Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use must include the VIN
, name and address of the requestor, Secure and Verifiable Identification, firm name (if applicable), date, signature and one box checked for 'approved permissible use'.
The Statement of Fact must include how, when, and from whom the vehicle in question was obtained as well as how much was paid for the vehicle. It must also include why the person is requesting a title search or history. Copies of additional documents may be required to determine if information may be released to be in compliance with DPPA.
A Certified VIN Inspection will be required prior to providing any personal identification information reflected on the vehicle record. (Owner name, address, etc.)
A fee of $2.20 per search/history, payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue must be submitted. For certified records, an additional $.50 per title record or title history request must be submitted.
The request should be sent to the Colorado Title Section, Denver, Colorado 80261.
If the department determines the information should be released, the current title information will be mailed in approximately 3 weeks from receipt of the request. Written notification will be sent to the applicant for all requests that the department determines will not be provided. In those cases the applicant can pursue a subpoena or court order.
C.R.S 42-1-206 (2) (b) states that an authorized agent of the department shall not provide the service of furnishing copies of certain records to members of the public if copies of such records are available to the public directly from the department. All record searches must be completed by the Department of Revenue.