Looking for fiberglass trailer that sleeps at least 7 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2017, 11:23 AM   #1

Name: Kristin
Trailer: Shopping for fiberglass that sleeps 8
Oklahoma
Looking for fiberglass trailer that sleeps at least 7

Hello everyone I am completely new to travel trailers. We are a big family of 6 and counting on more. We are looking for a trailer that sleeps at least 7 so we have room to grow. My tow vehicle is a 2016 Ford transit 350 van wagon that is rated to tow up to 3800lbs. I want a simple trailer and don't need a bathroom just a hard sided trailer for sleeping. We plan to do cooking and dining outside so we really don't need an elaborate kitchen. I would appreciate any suggestions or ideas. I haven't been able to find a fiberglass trailer that is under 3500lbs and sleeps 7.
BigFamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 02:56 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
I suppose it depends on how big they are. There are no molded fiberglass trailers that are designed to sleep 7+. But if the kids are small, you might fit two on a single bed or three in a double bed. As they outgrow that arrangement, tents or the tow vehicle can provide additional berths.

It is not easy to find the layouts with extra beds. Most actually sold are set up for couples.

A Casita Spirit 17 Standard w/ side bunk option sounds like your best bet. It has a 54" double bed at the back and two folding bunks- side and front- providing four additional berths. It has a small galley for bad weather days but no bathroom. Technically it sleeps six, but the rear bed could probably fit three smaller children. I've never seen one actually built that way, but I believe it can be ordered. You could call Casita and ask.