Mary in Pennsylvania - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2017, 06:26 PM   #1

Name: Mary
Trailer: Currently shopping
Pennsylvania
Post Mary in Pennsylvania

Hi, I'm Mary. I'm a full time freelance writer in my mid-50s, seriously considering fulltiming starting at the beginning of 2019. Figure that gives me time to locate, buy and customize the right rig, learn more about the full-timing lifestyle and do massive downsizing so I can head out on the road free and clear. I've never RVed even once in my life, and more than one friend and family member thinks I'm nuts. But I've always been curious, never been less encumbered or had less to lose, and I'm not getting any younger. If I do it, I'll be traveling with my little blind cat, Idgie, and boondocking as much as possible. I can work anywhere I have a good Internet connection. I've been researching for two months now, and it appears to me that FGRVs are the way to go for light weight that's still strong and well insulated. My TV will be a 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport, so I can tow 3,500 lbs. Would greatly appreciate any and all advice for a true newbie. Thanks!
Wildheart61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 07:43 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Welcome to FGRV, Mary!

I would encourage you to peruse the threads in the full-timing section here and do additional online research. There are many issues involved in full-timing, some of which would never occur to anyone with a permanent address. None are insurmountable, but you want to know what you're getting into.

Most molded fiberglass trailers are not very well insulated, and those that are are pretty heavy. It's not a big problem if you move to follow mild weather.