Need advice... Casita, or Scamp? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-09-2012, 02:15 AM   #1

Name: Hector
Trailer: Currently Shopping
Idaho
Need advice... Casita, or Scamp?

So I'm a complete newby, and have been reading up on trailers lately. Heres my story:
I married a girl who loves to camp, but we work all the time and pretty much don"t hit the road by ourselves. My inlaws have a large trailer that we stay in with them when we camp with them about 2 or 3 times a year. My wife has mentioned since we got married that she'd like us to get a camper someday, and pretty much her only requirement is that it have a bathroom. Not knowing much about the small camper market (and not wanting a popup), I didn't expect to be able to get something worthwhile that I didn't need a large pickup for. I stumbled across fiberglass RVs, and love what I've seen and read. So.... heres what im working with....

I have a 2012 Subaru Forester 2.5X, four cylinder with a 2 inch uhaul trailer hitch. I believe my towing capacity is somthing like 2300 lbs. I know the vehicle itself limits me a bit, but its what I have to use. We probably wouldn't be using it more than a weekend a month until work slows down, and we wouldnt be dragging it over the rockies, or through really dificult terrain. I'm inerested in a Scamp or Casita. I probably should just be looking at the 13's, but I'm getting sucked in by the notion of the extra space of the 16's. I keep telling myself that I will keep it loaded really light (have a rooftop carrier), and drive slow, and that everything will work out with the longer model.