New to all this stuff... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2013, 08:03 PM   #1

Name: David
Trailer: Between campers
South Carolina
New to all this stuff...

Hi Folks,

I am a newbie when it comes to campers; I have always used a tent.
Last year while camping on the Blue Ridge Parkway I saw a Scamp and talked to the owners who proudly showed off their rig. When I stepped inside I was first amazed that I could stand up in it (I'm 6'2"), and then surprised by how much space could fit in that little fiberglass body. I took a few photos to show my wife and she decided that maybe that would be a good way for us to travel with our dogs. I found this site and started lurking and learning.
That brings us to yesterday when I bought a 1983 U-Haul CT13. I found it on a craigslist post for a "Minnie Camper". when I clicked on it it showed the photos of this U-Haul and had the guy's phone number, so I called, got info, and we went to see it. It is not pristeen but serviceable and the price came down to a reasonable range so we decided to buy it.
The fellow was working on it, and the wheels were off for painting and new tires (Good time to look over the bearings and such), so I left a deposit and will pick it up this weekend.
I have learned quite a bit about Fiberglss RV from this site, and I am VERY glad that you all are here so that I can pick your brains for the answers to the many questions that I am sure to have with this new old U-Haul Camper! Thank you all in advance.
Please bear with me if you reply to a posting of mine and I don't get right back to you. I tend to live "Low Tech" and do not always check the computer every day. Thanks again, David
Camper Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:08 PM   #2

Trailer: U-Haul 1985
Registry