Newbee - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2017, 10:48 AM   #1

Name: Xavier
Trailer: In the market
Virginia
Newbee

Hello

I am new to the travel trailer concept and am looking for a 13' travel trailer. Any advice will be highly welcomed.

Thanks
JeepFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 11:05 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Newbee

Welcome, Xavier!

First thing to know about 13'ers is weight. Many sellers, perhaps misled by manufacturers' dry weights, advertise them as around 1000 pounds and towable by any passenger vehicle. Real world towing weights are more in the 1400-1800 pound range, sometimes more if it has a full wet bath, dual LP tanks, A/C and awning, etc.

Second thing to know is that headroom and bed sizes are somewhat limited. Unusually large or tall people may find them a tight fit. Beds are typically around 75-75" long, and 45" wide is considered a "double." Ceiling heights vary from around 5'10" to around 6'2".

We love our 13' Scamp, and it fits 2 adults and 2 children (11 and 14) snugly. Since both our daughters are fairly petite, either can still use the weight-limited upper bunk. We prefer to cook and eat outside and camp only where there are restrooms and showers.

Some people tow with vehicles rated as low as 1500 pounds, but that leaves very little payload for extra people or gear and little performance margin for demanding towing conditions- steep grades, strong headwinds, high altitudes, and hot temperatures. We tow with a Honda Pilot, rated to pull 3500 pounds.