Newbie here ! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2015, 10:40 AM   #1

Name: Kim
Trailer: Currently shopping
Rhode Island
Newbie here !

Hi there, I'm currently researching, is there a difference between FG and the " Green " trailers ? I didn't know you had to order a new FG trailer either, so you can't just pick one off the lot like a stick built ! I wanted to make a move by summer of 2016, any advice will be appreciated.
Kim RI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 10:52 AM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
"Green" is a mean-nothing word that is employed in marketing anything and everything. Our fiberglass trailers are also "Gluten-free".
Old 09-06-2015, 11:11 AM   #3

Trailer: U-Haul 1985
Registry
Not sure that 'Green' trailers you are referring to? I'm not aware that the new FG trailers are being produced with any more 'green' production methodology than the rest of the mainstream RVs being manufactured.
With regards to lifestyle, many FG owners are opting for FG because it offers a smaller footprint as compared to the larger campers out on the market. Towing them tends to use less gas as a result. So I suppose that can be considered as green. Also many FG owners like to run on solar power, which can also be considered green as well.
Maybe you can clarify what you are looking for in a trailer? In all honesty, most FG owners get them because we just like them better!
Pam Garlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 02:53 PM   #4

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
Hi Kim and Welcome the world of Fiberglass RV's (aka FGRV"s)

Why don't you give us a few tips about what you want to be doing next summer in terms of use and occupancy numbers, if you are only interested in new FGRG's, your approximate budget and what you will be towing with. This last item can be more controlling of what you might be looking at than all of the others.