Night Sailor is in port... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-07-2011, 11:17 PM   #1

Name: Conrad
Trailer: Bigfoot 3000 & Barth "slide-in" truck camper
Connecticut
Night Sailor is in port...

I am a professional sailor, licensed Captain, located in Connecticut at the moment. I have been sailing all my life and have about 40,000 sea miles offshore.

I prefer to sail at night, and take the night watches when offshore--mostly because I'm sailing so much, I have learned to avoid the sun--I hate it--I've been using this handle "Night Sailor" for many years.

I am knowledgeable on electrical systems, navigation and radar, yacht plumbing, rigging, fiberglass, diesel engines, and literally everything you can think of that is boat related. I know lots about Gelcoat and fiberglass repair, and two part painting systems, radio--I'm a licensed Ham, and electronics.

My big current project is a 46' sloop. I'll try to post some links to the work done on that boat. I've also restored a number of dinghies and a 30' keel boat and have detailed blogs on fiberglass repair which show techniques that can be used on Egg's too! I grew up using my grandfather's well equipped wood shop and have built furniture and things like that... I guess you could say, I'm a handyman. Part of the reason I'm good at many things is because I see every person I meet as an opportunity to learn something new. I'm humble because arrogant people don't learn readily from others, and also because ocean will make you humble.