Planning my full-time future in an egg (and an efficiency question for you) - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-01-2015, 01:43 PM   #1

Name: William
Trailer: Currently shopping
Texas
Planning my full-time future in an egg (and an efficiency question for you)

Hello, board! I'm a Texas-based freelance writer, and I plan to get a 13-foot fiberglass "egg" for solo full-timing within the next couple of years. Several months of the year will probably be spent in RV parks with hookups; the rest of the time, I'll be out wandering from campsite to Wal-Mart to wherever. I will mostly be using the camper as a place to eat, sleep, and work in the evenings on my laptop; during the daytime I hope to be either driving or exploring local towns.

I'm wondering how little power and water I can manage to use on my un-hooked journeys, based on the following....
  • I have no fear of sponge baths (even cold ones! ) or washing my hair in the sink.
  • I would only be using my camper toilet when there wasn't another facility handy.
  • I could easily install some internally-powered LED cabin lights to optimize my energy efficiency in the evenings.
  • I could recharge my laptop (which can run for at least 10 hours per charge) with a cigarette-lighter AC plug once a day.
  • I don't plan on running TVs, stereos, or other equipment; my laptop can serve my home entertainment needs.
  • In such a small space, I imagine I could run a small electric and/or propane furnace for short periods of time, instead of all night long. I can also cover windows, etc with thermal material as needed (maybe with the aid of some Velcro).