Researching! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2015, 02:24 PM   #1

Name: elizabeth
Trailer: T@B
Oregon
Researching!

Hi all
I am a camper noob in every sense of the word, having only trailer camped once with a friend...but it was a ton of fun and I learned a lot.

I show dogs in several venues and most multi-day shows offer RV space, often with hook ups....so I am considering the leap. It would also be nice to just get outta Dodge on the weekends...

I drive a Volvo wagon that, as yet, has no tow package....and the recommended towing weight is 3300lbs.

I'm brimming with questions and hope you'll be patient!
Here's one
1. What is the lightest trailer with a wet bath and the most sq footage? I don;t know if you discuss aluminum or other materials...so, in terms of FG then.
thanks!
Liz
ORshepherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 03:07 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
In spite of all the wonderful names given to stick built trailers, such as "LITE", "Feather" and the ultimate, "Feather Lite", FGRV's will, size for size weigh less than them.

Now, first tell us more about your Volvo... We just did this dance with another Volvo owner and it turns out that 3300 lbs towing may not mean that you can tow 3300 lbs. Tell us your year and model. HINT: If has to do with maximum tongue weight that Volvo allows

Then take a look at the chart for real world trailer weights here:
http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...rld-43010.html

There is only one 13' with a bathroom, the 13' Scamp, and that is tiny when you add in dogs and handlers...

So, for the most part you need to look at the listings that are 17' as most of them will have a bathroom and many are under 3300 lbs going down the road.
http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...rld-43010.html