Advice Sought RE Ontario Permit/Ownership - Used Trailer - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Money Matters
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-05-2015, 06:58 PM   #1

Name: John
Trailer: "In the market"
ON
Advice Sought RE Ontario Permit/Ownership - Used Trailer

Hello All,

I am a newb and need some help. I am considering the purchase of a fiberglass trailer in Ontario, where I am also a resident. The current owner has a government permit/ownership with the trailer described as "Homemade".

So...is this going to be a viable document for Service Ontario to issue a valid permit and for insurance purposes? If not, what can we do?

Any insights are appreciated.

John
Daiwa000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 07:10 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
I don't know anything about Canadian registration requirements, but I do know that some early makers (Burro I think) sold DIY trailer kits. So "Homemade" may be accurate.
That said, there have been occasions where trailers titled as "Homemade", turned out to have been stolen up to years in the past.

If you can put up a pic you will get a quick I.D. from members.

Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 07:31 PM   #3

Name: Bobby
Trailer: Trillium 4500, Casita f/d ,1987 boler voyageur,1988bigfoot5er
Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daiwa000 View Post
Hello All,

I am a newb and need some help. I am considering the purchase of a fiberglass trailer in Ontario, where I am also a resident. The current owner has a government permit/ownership with the trailer described as "Homemade".

So...is this going to be a viable document for Service Ontario to issue a valid permit and for insurance purposes? If not, what can we do?

Any insights are appreciated.

John
Hey John,