Process for buying a trailer in Kentucky - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Money Matters
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-08-2016, 09:16 PM   #1

Name: Bernie
Trailer: Researching Options
Kentucky
Process for buying a trailer in Kentucky

Hello!

I am a Kentucky resident and will be looking at a trailer from a local seller on the morning of July 9th!! I am hoping someone can walk me through the title transfer process. Here are some of my questions:

I've read online that the seller can sign the back of the title, then the buyer can take it to the DMV to get it transferred. Is this correct? The information also said the signature needs to be notarized?? I'm not for sure how to get that done in this case. On a Saturday morning!!

Or will we need to go to a DMV office to transfer the title?

Any information you early birds can pass my way will be greatly appreciated.

A little background, for years I've been thinking of getting a ClassB when I retire, 10 years from now!! I stumbled upon a small Egg Rally in Bardstown KY about 6 weeks ago. Everyone was VERY NICE and took pride in showing me their "home on wheels". It struck me that a fiberglass trailer would be perfect for me at this stage of my life, BUT, it is the community around them that I am most excited about. As a matter of fact, I already have a campsite reserved for the Land Between The Lakes Fall Rally!! Campsite # 321 and I don't even own a trailer yet!!

I hope the Seller doesn't see this

Thanks everyone,

Bernie
BernieK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 10:35 PM   #2

Name: Dale
Trailer: 2010 EggCamper; 2002 Highlander 3.0L; 2017 Escape 21'; 2016 F-150 5.0L Fx4
Colorado