Basic questions ;electrical from a new owner - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-30-2007, 08:01 PM   #1

Trailer: 1972 Compact Jr
I bought a new to me 1972 compact junior. The seller had the battery charged so the interior lights worked but they didn't by the day I got home, a day long trip. The battery is on the tongue exposed, in a holder but no box. When I made mention of 3 stage chargers to a local RV dealer he seemed to suggest all I needed was a trickle charger. I have no experience with batteries and trailers. the trailer has some 110 lights that would work with the shore power, plugged in, and some 12 volt lights. I believe a small water pump is 12 volt. I expect that I'll need a new battery. the trailer wiring is 4 pin flat. When I get another vehicle wired with the hitch should I go with 7 pin to include a charge line or should I have an independent charge line separate from the wiring harness and keep the four pin system. No converter. I believe there are adapters that will allow a four pin trailer to be plugged into a 7 pin but I would imagine not the other way. What steps would you take at this time?
Kent I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 09:53 PM   #2

Trailer: 2003 Casita Spirit Deluxe 17 ft
First - disconnect the negative on the battery. I don't know a lot about them either, but if there is a problem this might save the battery. Sooner the better.

Beyond that - wait for the good answers.
Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 10:15 PM   #3

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Talking

Quote:
I bought a new to me 1972 compact junior.
[b]My first trailer was a 1971 Compact Jr.
Unfortunately, it was a gutted shell. I had few clues on how the manufacturer equipped the interior.