Best way to monitor battery-Centurian 3000 30amp converter - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-02-2016, 08:16 AM   #21

Name: JD
Trailer: Scamp 16 Modified (BIGLY)
Florida
I like the trimetric, but it is a little pricey if you don't have a solar system.
I talked with the guy about the charging controller if it could be used with a regular battery converter that might be regulated to a higher voltage to mimic a solar setup.
He said is should work just fine, but he had not tried it.
The cheap (less than $20.00) system I use does not read the daily useage, but would have to be reset since the power is a total number.
I have used it writing down a beginning and end number to get a daily useage number.
As Carol has said once you have everything setup you really don't need to check all the time.
A good digital multimeter is a necessity and since I am a professional electric guy I have several, but I can appreciate a cheap power meter for my curious mind.
We don't (yet) boondock so the system is good for our needs.
I want to install a solar system for the Scam so that we can park it and not worry about power to keep the battery up.
Since we are in the deep South the heat and humidity are high enough to rule out too much boondocking in the summer months.
I haven't yet focused on adding solar, but as an electrical guy I am definitely interested!
Carol seems to have a pretty good grasp of electrical maintenance and I agree with her that a multimeter will do much of what you need to do.
The power meter does one thing really well and that is measure the current even at high levels (100 amps) that the multimeter would have a problem with.
The current is what does the work in the circuit so its fairly important and will also let you know it you have an unknown drain on the system.
Turn on a light and see how much current it adds to the total.