Charge battery while towing on 7-way plug - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-15-2017, 06:52 PM   #1

Name: Jeroen
Trailer: Scamp
North Carolina
Charge battery while towing on 7-way plug

I've bought a 7-way plug for the Scamp I'm rebuilding. Can I hook up the auxiliary power (black and white) directly to the battery?
jeroen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 06:55 PM   #2

Name: Lisa
Trailer: 1992 Scamp 13'
California
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeroen View Post
I've bought a 7-way plug for the Scamp I'm rebuilding. Can I hook up the auxiliary power (black and white) directly to the battery?
I'm just learning about this stuff myself, but I believe the black wire has to be fused.

Not sure if this link works, but if it does, click download to see the wire diagram:
http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/d...?do=file&id=75
lisantica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 04:57 AM   #3

North Carolina
Can anyway check what size fuses Scamp uses? I'm guessing 40amp. Is there no diode in there as well?
Old 10-16-2017, 05:17 AM   #4

Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
fuses

no more than 20 amp

bob
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 05:59 AM   #5

Name: Lisa
Trailer: 1992 Scamp 13'
California
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0wtz View Post
no more than 20 amp

bob
This is true, mine is a 20 amp.
lisantica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 06:30 AM   #6

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Quote:
Quote:
Can anyway check what size fuses Scamp uses? I'm guessing 40amp. Is there no diode in there as well?