Charger/Converter Settings & Voltmeter/Battery Health Question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-20-2015, 12:17 AM   #1

Name: Bryan
Trailer: Scamp
Northern California
Charger/Converter Settings & Voltmeter/Battery Health Question

I have attached a photo of the Charger/Converter we have in our 98 Scamp. I am new to the whole rv/egg trailer thing. I have a question as to what settings the charger/converter should be on when plugged into shore power and also while towing? When I got the trailer (not that long ago), it was set on 10 amps and Conventional Low Maintenance. I switched it to Maintenance Free Deep Cycle and 2 Amps. The reason I did this and I am not that knowledgable, hence the question, is because I have a group 24 battery which I believe is Deep Cycle, and isn't it good to charge a deep cycle battery slowly?

I also accidentally left an interior LED light on all day and though I finally did turn it off while is was still shining, I now 2 days later don't have any juice to turn a light on at all. So, I am wondering if my battery is shot, as I think I read it is not good to run down below 50 percent, which leads me to my next question, what kind of volt meter to use to check your battery health, and at what point should I get another battery?

Once again, I have no clue, so any advice would be great.
HAPPYSCAMPER76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 04:46 AM   #2

Name: Garbonz
Trailer: Bigfoot
Colorado