Does anyone have a GFCI outlet at the Kitchen Sink? - Page 3 - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2018, 01:40 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Casita 17 ft DLX SD
NW Wisconsin
Posts: 3,287
Normally if you install a non GFCI protected receptacle that feeds a specific appliance in a GFCI required area you are required to install a single receptacle and not a duplex receptacle
IE : In garages GFCI receptacles are required .
Garage door openers are notorious for tripping
GFCI's so you were allowed to install a non GFCI receptacle for the door opener but it had to be a single receptacle not a Duplex
You could also install a non GFCI protected receptacle in the garage for a freezer but you had to install a twist lok receptacle so you could not use it as a convenience receptacle.
For every code rule in the NEC there are usually numerous exceptions to the rule.

Wiring also is supposed to comply with the UL listing for the appliance. IE: If the A/C manufactuter UL list the product to use #12 wire or sets a standard higher then the code then you are required to comply .
Scamp has chosen not to comply with the code and to be honest most FG trailer manufacturers have chosen to do the same even the high buck ones !!
__________________

steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 01:50 PM   #30
Moderator
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Name: Jim
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Alberta
Posts: 5,262
Registry
There have been no single receptacle outlets used for appliances here since the days of using a recessed one for a clock in the kitchen. The only exception is for a garbage disposal under the sink where it is common to disconnect (disable) one of the outlets on a duplex receptacle. Probably due to the location near water?
__________________

__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 01:50 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Casita 17 ft DLX SD
NW Wisconsin
Posts: 3,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon2 View Post
That plug is not for you to use.. its for the fridge. Its like the one I mentioned above, under my lower outside fridge vent. But your question is valid since the outlet is there under your sink, people will use it, even if its not intended to be used for anything other than the fridge.
In a lot of jurisdictions the receptacle for the refrigerator would have to be a twist lok so it could not be used as a convenience receptacle
Trailers are not homes and are not subject to inspection so they cut corners whenever possible.
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 01:55 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Casita 17 ft DLX SD
NW Wisconsin
Posts: 3,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Bennett View Post
There have been no single receptacle outlets used for appliances here since the days of using a recessed one for a clock in the kitchen. The only exception is for a garbage disposal under the sink where it is common to disconnect (disable) one of the outlets on a duplex receptacle. Probably due to the location near water?
The US and Canadian standards are not the same.
In the last 10 years when working in the trade , I probably installed over 5000 single receptacles
both in commercial and residential construction
Only a few of them were clock receptacles because most clocks today are battery powered
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 02:55 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Posts: 2,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darral T. View Post
..
Another thing... I noticed you said "20A" on the A/C? (out of curiosity, do you know what ga wire is ran to it?) Mine came with 14ga wire AND a 15A breaker when my Coleman manual explicitly says use no less 20A and 12ga wire! I called Kent Eveland's hand on it ...
I can't prove it but I feel confident that Evelands finally saw the light, or at least heard from enough customers, that they started following the A/C manufacturer's instructions for wiring to the A/C, and that is also the way they currently do it. Now if we could just get them to do the same thing with the Eveland's Inc style propane regulator installations
gordon2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 02:58 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Posts: 2,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve dunham View Post
...
For every code rule in the NEC there are usually numerous exceptions to the rule.
...
With your expertise, Steve, what would you do as far as GFIC in you had the camper I described?

I sure don't mind spending a little money to make it safer.
gordon2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 03:05 PM   #35
Member
 
Name: Scott
Trailer: Escape
Washington
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon2 View Post
That plug is not for you to use.. its for the fridge. Its like the one I mentioned above, under my lower outside fridge vent. But your question is valid since the outlet is there under your sink, people will use it, even if its not intended to be used for anything other than the fridge.


If it’s intended to only be used by the refrigerator, then why does it have two outlets? By contrast, the only place that Escape will place an outlet inside a cabinet is for the microwave, and when they do it a single outlet only receptacle, and bears a sticker stating “For Microwave Use Only”.
__________________
There is no such thing as political correctness. Just correctness.
sclifrickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 06:19 PM   #36
Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Casita
New York
Posts: 50
You shouldn’t have to go outside or anywhere else to reset a “blown” outlet, whether allowed by code or not.
Stevieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 09:25 PM   #37
Junior Member
 
Name: sven
Trailer: Casita
FL
Posts: 7
Just install one...

They are very easy to install as long as you have a good ground. What is the big deal.
mosquito13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 07:57 AM   #38
Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Casita
New York
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosquito13 View Post
They are very easy to install as long as you have a good ground. What is the big deal.
I agree. Remove outlet from box. Install GFI outlet in box.
Stevieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 01:38 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Joe MacDonald's Avatar
 
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Posts: 772
it would depend on whether or not you had a box to put the receptacle into, lots of campers have RV type plugs, which don't require a box, these outlets are available with GFI if required. depending on the main breaker in your converter, you might be able to make it a GFI breaker which would protect everything after the panel.
And here in Ontario, we use lots of single plugs, door openers(no GFI required(plug is in ceiling), central vacs, etc.
Joe

PS after reading the above- GFI plugs are accepted as an alternative to the old two wire receptacles as long as you can carry a ground back to the main grounding location in your house here as a way of upgrading without completely re-wiring a house
Joe MacDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 02:34 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Jon Vermilye's Avatar
 
Name: Jon
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21
Oswego, NY
Posts: 1,612
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe MacDonald View Post
it would depend on whether or not you had a box to put the receptacle into, lots of campers have RV type plugs, which don't require a box, these outlets are available with GFI if required. depending on the main breaker in your converter, you might be able to make it a GFI breaker which would protect everything after the panel.
And here in Ontario, we use lots of single plugs, door openers(no GFI required(plug is in ceiling), central vacs, etc.
Joe

PS after reading the above- GFI plugs are accepted as an alternative to the old two wire receptacles as long as you can carry a ground back to the main grounding location in your house here as a way of upgrading without completely re-wiring a house
When substituting a GFCI receptacle for a 2 wire receptacle here in the US (most jurisdictions are under the NEC) no ground run is required, however the receptacle must be labeled that it is not grounded. You do not need a ground for a GFCI to function...
__________________

Jon Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scamp


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does adding multi-outlet to 12v outlet diminish output? Kudzu Asheville Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 8 05-08-2014 06:05 AM
Does anyone have a solar panel I can borrow? peterh Oregon Gatherings 5 05-05-2012 10:29 AM
Bathroom issues: does anyone else have this problem? Lisa M. General Chat 25 07-15-2010 06:38 AM
Need Help with Outside GFCI Recepticle Kevin A Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 4 06-09-2009 10:23 PM
Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters-GFCI Pete Dumbleton Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 0 04-13-2008 04:43 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.